A Twittering Commission! - La Treizième Étoile: A blog on EU politics
News from the European Union with a focus on the South West UK and Gibraltar region and its MEPs
My tweets (@SWUKinEU)
A Twittering Commission!

Wednesday, 10 February 2010
Put yourself in the shoes of a newly-elected European Commissioner for a moment. You officially begin work at 9.00am this morning and so you arrive in your office, put down the coffee and pastry on the desk and start up your computer. But what is the first thing you do?

Set up a Twitter account of course!

At least that is what the Slovenian Janez Potočnik has done, and as a result he has scooped the prestitious award for the first Commissioner to do so.

Janez Potočnik's Twitter Page (Photo: Screengrab)His first tweet appeared shortly after 9.00am this morning, and reads "My statement on my nomination as Environment Commissioner: http://twurl.nl/vgxwjc".

We have already witnessed the arrival of European Parliament President Jerzy Buzek on the micro-blogging site, so how long will it be before other Commissioners join the club?

Keep a track of them as they are created here:

László Andor (HU) - Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion (01/01/11)
Michel Barnier (FR) - Internal Market (16/01/09)
Maria Damanaki (HE) - Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (26/06/09 then 14/03/11)
Kristalina Georgieva (BG) - Humanitarian Aid & Crisis Response (15/03/10)
Siim Kallas (EE) - Transport (06/06/11)
Neelie Kroes (NL) - Digital Agenda (30/06/10)
Andris Piebalgs (LV) - Development
Janez Potočnik (SI) - Environment (10/02/10)
Vivian Reding (LU) - Justice, Citizenship and Fundamental Rights (11/08/10)
Maroš Šefčovič (SK) - Inter-institutional Relations and Administration (26/10/11)
Algirdas Semeta (LT) - Taxation, Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud (27/09/11)

Update (10/02 - 23:50): Have discovered that French Commissioner Michel Barnier and Greek Maria Damanaki already have Twitter accounts, but were set up before they became Commissioners.

Update (30/06 - 15:55): Neelie Kroes added. José Manuel Barroso removed from the list as account is shown as 'suspended'.

Update (20/08 - 16:07): Vivian Reding added.

Update (10/01 - 14.00): László Andor added.

Update (17/03 - 13.43): Maria Damanaki has created a new account to replace her @damanaki account she had used before becoming a Commissioner.

Update (10/06 - 17.35): Siim Kallas added.

Update (17/10 - 23.55): Andris Piebalgs and Maroš Šefčovič added.

Twitter trackbacks:
0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment

Last election:

Click here to see which six MEPs were elected.