La Treizième Étoile: 18/12/11 - 25/12/11 Blog Archives
News from the European Union with a focus on the South West UK and Gibraltar region and its MEPs
My tweets (@SWUKinEU)
Two seasonal messages from Sir Graham Watson, our local MEP and ELDR president

Thursday, 22 December 2011
With less than a week now until Christmas itself, the region's Liberal Democrat MEP Sir Graham Watson has recorded and published two seasonal messages: one wearing his hat as our local liberal MEP...

... and the other wearing his new hat as the President of the European Liberal Democrat and Reform Party (ELDR).

Merry Christmas!


A festive message and "reassuring words" on UK's EU isolation from Julie Girling

Sunday, 18 December 2011
South West Conservative MEP Julie Girling has this week published a special Christmas edition of her video blog. In this edition, filmed in Strasbourg, her message remains on issues at the national level - a.k.a. the fallout of Cameron's veto at the latest EU Summit (PS: Why still no constituency issues Julie?).

Anyway, my particular favourite passage:
For all those of you who are worried that we are now isolated in Europe, I would just like to remind you that very often we British Conservatives and the ECR Group find ourselves on the opposite side of many of the votes here. [It is] very rare, apart from when we are talking about issues of the environment, but when we are talking about financial issues very often we are on the other side […] I do want to reassure you that nothing much is going to change from that point of view.
In other words, British Conservatives were already isolated from Europe anyway and on that basis nothing will change. How very reassuring. Lest us forget one of David Cameron's first acts as Tory leader was to withdraw his MEPs from the most dominant EPP grouping in the Parliament to form a far less influential splinter group with “a bunch of nutters, anti-Semites, people who deny climate change exists and homophobes”.

Merry Christmas one and all.


Last election:

Click here to see which six MEPs were elected.