European Parliament committee and delegations appointments confirmed: how have our South West MEPs fared? - La Treizième Étoile: A blog on EU politics
News from the European Union with a focus on the South West UK and Gibraltar region and its MEPs
My tweets (@SWUKinEU)
European Parliament committee and delegations appointments confirmed: how have our South West MEPs fared?

Sunday, 19 February 2012
The European Parliament's legislative work is carried out by 20 standing committees and two sub-committees, each of which elects a chair and four vice-chairs. Two weeks ago in Brussels, concluding much horse-trading between the political groups over positions, the political groupings allocated MEPs to committees and each parliamentary committees nominated and elected their Chair and Vice-Chairs for the next two and a half years until the end of the 7th parliamentary term. This week in Strasbourg, the composition and heads of the parliamentary delegations were also confirmed.

As the dust settles, here is how our region’s representatives have come out of the negotiations and nominations:

  • Ashley Fox retains one of the Vice-Chair positions in the Constitutional Affairs (AFCO) committee, retains his membership to the delegation to the Arab Peninsula and substitute membership of the delegation to China.

  • Julie Girling becomes a full member of the Agriculture and Rural Development (AGRI) committee, but steps down from member to substitute member of the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety (ENVI) committee and retains substitute membership of Fisheries (PECH) committee. Retains both delegation memberships, but is no longer a substitute on the Employment (EMPL) committee.

  • Giles Chichester retains a Vice-Chair position in the delegation for relations with the Pan-African Parliament, and membership of two committees and two further delegations, but had to surrender his position as European Parliament Vice President as fellow Brit Martin Callanan became leader of the ECR group.

  • Sir Graham Watson retains the Chair of the delegation for India, membership of the Foreign Affairs (AFET) committee, and substitute membership of the delegations to China and to South East Asia. His substitute membership of the Fisheries (PECH) committee has been swapped for substitute membership of the Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE) committee.

  • The Earl of Dartmouth gains a substitute membership of the Foreign Affairs (AFET) committee in addition to retaining his membership of the International Trade (INTA) committee.

  • Trevor Colman – no change. At all.

Parliamentary Committees:

Parliamentary Delegations:

Labels: , , , , ,

Twitter trackbacks:
0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment

Last election:

Click here to see which six MEPs were elected.